DopeOpen Road has set a June 19 release date for Rick Famuyiwa’s "Dope," which features Zoë Kravitz, Keith Stanfield, Kimberly Elise, rap stars A$AP Rocky and Tyga who all appear in the film by Famuyiwa ("The Wood," "Brown Sugar," "Our Family Wedding"), which is described as a coming of age story about geeks growing up in Inglewood, California, trying to avoid gangs, drugs, and crime.  

Starring Shameik Moore, Tony Revolori and Kiersey Clemons, the film follows a trio of best friends who are also in their own hip hop – punk band. 

The official synopsis reads: "Malcolm is a high school geek with a high-top fade, carefully navigating life in The Bottoms, one of the toughest neighborhoods in Inglewood, California. He and his fellow outcasts share a voracious appreciation for all things ’90s hip-hop, opting to sport Cross-Colors and Z. Cavariccis at the risk of being clowned at school. He dreams of attending Harvard, but first he has to make it home every day. When a drug dealer takes a shine to Malcolm and invites him to his birthday party, Malcolm’s crew is swirled into a hilarious blender of offbeat characters and bad choices where redemption can only be found in Bitcoin."

Significant Productions’ Forest Whitaker and Nina Yang Bongiovi ("Fruitvale Station") are producers of the film, which features original music by Pharrell Williams.

The movie will open the 19th annual American Black Film Festival (ABFF) on Thursday, June 11, at the SVA Theatre, 333 West 23rd Street, NYC, the movie’s New York City premiere; and will have its LA premiere at the Los Angeles Film Festival in a special pre-festival screening on Monday, June 8 at 7:30pm. 

The soundtrack will be out June 16, and it features, as you’d expect (given the starring characters’ "appreciation for all things 1990s hip-hop"), 1990s hip-hop tracks from Digable Planets, Digital Underground, Public Enemy, A Tribe Called Quest, Nas, Naughty by Nature, and others, including a truly old-school classic from Gil Scott-Herron, from his 1971 album "Pieces of a Man," which has been sampled quite a bit by hip-hop afters that came long after.

There are also 4 original tracks that come courtesy of Pharrell, performed under the "Awreeoh" alias (the name of the group the film’s 3 principal characters form). 

Check out the full track listing below.

1 Rebirth of Slick – Digable Planets
2 Can’t Bring Me Down – Awreeoh 
3 The World Is Yours – Nas
4 Go Head – Awreeoh
5 Rebel Without A Pause – Public Enemy
6 Don’t Get Deleted – Awreeoh
7 Scenario – A Tribe Called Quest
8 Cocaina Shawty – Kap G
9 Poppin’ Off – Watch The Duck
10 The Humpty Dance – Digital Underground
11 New Money – Buddy
12 Hip Hop Hooray – Naughty By Nature
13 Dirty Feeling – LolaWolf
14 Home Is Where The Hatred Is – Gil Scott-Herron
15 It’s My Turn Now – Awreeoh

And finally, released just moments ago, here are character posters for each of the movie’s key characters:

nullBlake Anderson as WillChanel Iman as LilyZoë Kravitz as NakiaTony Revolori as JibKiersey Clemons as DiggyShameik Moore as MalcolmA redband trailer for the film (you know what that means – foul language, lots of nudity, violence, and everything your parents kept you away from when you were a kid – although this doesn’t have much of any of that, unfortunately) is embedded below: