Film Independent President Josh Welsh announced today that this year’s 2014 Spirit Award nominees will be presented by Octavia Spencer and Paula Patton, at a Tuesday, November 26, 10am press conference in Hollywood. 

“It’s a pleasure to have Octavia Spencer and Paula Patton join us to announce this year’s Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees,” said Josh Welsh, President of Film Independent. “This is an important moment in the independent film community calendar and we are delighted they will be with us as we announce the nominees for the year’s top independent films and artists.”

Film Independent, the nonprofit arts organization that also produces the Los Angeles Film Festival and Film Independent at LACMA Film Series, will announce the winners on March 1 at the 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards. The live-to-tape event is held under Film Independent’s signature tent on the beach in Santa Monica and will premiere later that evening exclusively on IFC at 10 pm ET/PT.

Spirit Awards are given out in the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, Best Screenplay, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best International Film, Best Documentary, Best Editing and the Robert Altman Award. The Filmmaker Awards include the Piaget Producers Award, the Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award and the Someone to Watch Award.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are sponsored by Premier Sponsors Piaget, the Lincoln Motor Company and IFC and by Principal Sponsor Stella Artois. WireImage is the Official Photographer and PR Newswire is the Official Breaking News Service of Film Independent.