The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP), the nation’s oldest and largest organization of independent filmmakers, announced the nominees for the Gotham Independent Film Awards, in October, signaling the kick-off to the film awards season.

A month-and-a-half later, tonight, some of the nominees will be honored with winning trophies, during the Gotham Awards ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street – an event that will be streamed live, which you can watch in the player embedded below.

Of most interest to this blog, Chiwetel Ejiofor and Isaiah Washington are both nominated in the Best Actor category, for 12 Years A Slave and Blue Caprice respectively.

The film’s director, Alexandre Moors is also nominated in the Breakthrough Director category.

Also, 12 Years A Slave is nominated in the Best Feature category. That might receive a few frowns, since it’s a much higher profile project than its competitors, like Upstream Color, Before Midnight, and Ain’t Them Bodies Saints.

In the Best Documentary category, Let the Fire Burn, the Zeitgeist Films release on the black radical group MOVE, is nominated.

For Breakthrough Director, Ryan Coogler is also nominated for Fruitvale Station.

And in the Breakthrough Actor category Lupita Nyong’o and Michael B. Jordan will compete against each other for that award, for their performances in 12 Years A Slave and Fruitvale Station.

Congrats to all the nominees!

Tonight’s event starts at 8pm. Watch below starting at that time: