The Micheaux Film Festival concluded its week-long run on Sunday with a ceremony honoring iconic actor and filmmaker Robert Townsend with the Oscar Micheaux Trailblazer of Excellence Award.

Actors that attended the event included Amin Joseph, Slink Johnson, Brely Evans, Reagan Gomez-Preston and Skye Townsend. The festival also included workshops and conversations featuring Jill Marie Jones, Maahra Hill, Bridgid Coulter Cheadle, Steve Pink, Deborah Riley Draper, Whitney Valcin, Christian Bustamante, Jamie Castro and Renita Gale.

This year’s hybrid festival had in-person programming at the TCL Chinese Theatre. The fest gave honors in 40 over categories that include film, shorts, digital series, music and social influence.

This year’s event sponsors included the Oprah Winfrey Network, SONY Pictures Entertainment, Panavision and IMDbPro. Panavision also contributed $75,000 in grant funds to award winners of the festival.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Outstanding Music Video 

Black Leather   

Outstanding Student Project  

Furthest From   

Outstanding Action/Suspense  

Rules to Rule  

Outstanding Horror/Thriller 

10 Years in 40 Seconds

Outstanding Sci-Fi 

Navel Gazers  

Outstanding Short Documentary  

Free to Be

Outstanding Feature Documentary 

Uprooted: The Journey of Jazz Dance

Outstanding Special Programming  

Black Girl, Bleu  

Outstanding Editing 

I Love You, I’m Sorry

Outstanding Performance Piece 

Hues & Hidden Kings   

Outstanding Music  

Harana (Serenade)

Outstanding VFX 

Dark Lights  

Outstanding Cinematography  


 Outstanding Podcast, Digital Talk, or Vlog 

All Things Undone – podcast

Savage Chat Series – digital talk

Externo – Vlog

Outstanding Dramatic Short 


Outstanding Comedic Short 


Outstanding Animated Short 


Outstanding Dramatic Actress (short form)  

Frencheska Farr as “Maya” – Harana

Outstanding Comedic Actress (short form)  

Bria Henderson as “Mia” – Prepared

Outstanding Dramatic Actor (short form)  

Telvin Griffin as “David Carter” – A Blue Shroud   

Outstanding Comedic Actor (short form)  

Sandro Iocolano as “Guido Gaguzzi” – How to Do Sh!t with Guido Gagootz

Outstanding Actor (Feature) 

Kim Estes as “Detective Travis” – Loyalty

Outstanding Actress (Feature) 

Denise Yolèn as “Monika” – Sundays in July

Outstanding Dramatic Writing 

The Ice Cream Stop

Outstanding Comedic Writing 

December 21st

Outstanding Writing (Feature) 

Asking For It

Outstanding Directing Comedic Short Form 

How to Do Sh!t with Guido Gagootz

Outstanding Directing Dramatic Short Form 

The Fixer

Outstanding Directing (Feature) 

Red Pill

Outstanding Dramatic Digital Series 


Outstanding Comedic Digital Series 

The Gaze

Outstanding Unscripted Digital Series 

Content is King

Outstanding International Short 


Outstanding Panavision Short 


Outstanding Panavision Feature Film 

Sunday’s in July 

Oscar Micheaux Trailblazer of Excellence Award 

Robert Townsend  

Cesar Chavez Civic Impact Award 

Kevin Welbeck

Michael Ajakwe Pioneer of Influence Award 

Gregori J. Martin

Learn more about the fest at