The Critics’ Choice Association has announced its 2019 winners for the Critics’ Choice Documentary Award Winners.

Apollo 11 won the top prize, Best Documentary Feature as well as Best Editing, Best Score, Best Archival Documentary and Best Science/Nature Documentary. Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am won for Best Biographical Documentary.

Best Director was a tie between Peter Jackson for They Shall Not Grow Old and Julia Reichert and Steven Bognar for American Factory. You may remember, American Factory was executive produced by Barack and Michelle Obama and was the first project under their Netflix deal.

“Once again, we are thrilled to celebrate and support the vibrant and groundbreaking work of these talented documentarians. We are proud that our yearly gala event has become an informed and valuable way for people to find the best films out there and for the work of these filmmakers to find their audiences,” said Critics Choice Associaton CEO Joey Berlin. “It was a great night of lauding the greats in the documentary field as well as some outstanding newcomers.”

Check out the full list of winners below:

Best Documentary Feature – Apollo 11 (Neon)

Best Director – TIE – Peter Jackson – They Shall Not Grow Old (Warner Bros.)

Best Director – TIE – Julia Reichert and Steven Bognar – American Factory (Netflix)

Best Cinematography – John Chester – The Biggest Little Farm (Neon)

Best Editing – Todd Douglas Miller – Apollo 11 (Neon)

Best Score – Matt Morton – Apollo 11 (Neon)

Best Narration – Bruce Springsteen – Western Stars (Warner Bros.)

Best First Documentary Feature – Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov – Honeyland (Neon)

Best Archival Documentary – Apollo 11 (Neon)

Best Biographical Documentary – Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am (Magnolia)

Best Music Documentary – Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice (Greenwich)

Best Political Documentary – American Factory (Netflix)

Best Science/Nature Documentary – Apollo 11 (Neon)

Best Sports Documentary – Maiden (Sony Pictures Classics)

Most Innovative Documentary – They Shall Not Grow Old (Warner Bros.)

Best Short Documentary – Period. End of Sentence. (Netflix)

The D A Pennebaker Award – Frederick Wiseman

The Landmark Award – Michael Apted


‘Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am’ Presents A Personal Perspective Of A Miraculous Life

‘It’s Not An Editorial’: Watch As Barack And Michelle Obama Open Up About Their First Netflix Release As Producers

Photo: Magnolia 

From Harlem to Hollywood, get the Black entertainment news you need in your inbox daily.