nullThe soundtrack includes 12 classic soul music tracks of the 1970s, heard throughout Seasons 1 and 2 of the hit ABC TV drama.

The September 3rd release date coincides with the DVD release of Season 2, also on September 3rd.

Creator/showrunner Shonda Rhimes contributed to the album’s extensive liner notes, stating:

“During those four days [of writing the ‘Scandal’ pilot], the soundtrack of my writing was the funky, delicious music of the 1970s […] It’s the music that came after they killed Jack and Bobby and Martin and Malcolm […] t’s the music after Nixon disappointed a nation, it’s the music of the sexual revolution and the feminist movement.” 

With fans eagerly awaiting the premiere of the third season on October 3rd, 2013, you’ll have a month to enjoy the soundtrack before then.

Songs from Scandal: Music for Gladiators track list:

1. War – Edwin Starr
2. Green Onions – Booker T. & The MG’s
3. Everyday People – Sly & The Family Stone
4. I Can See Clearly Now – Johnny Nash
5. Tell Me Something Good – Rufus and Chaka Khan
6. Get Down Tonight – KC and The Sunshine Band
7. I Believe in You (You Believe in Me) – Johnnie Taylor
8. Respect Yourself (RAC Remix) – The Staple Singers
9. Crazy – Bettye LaVette
10. You’re All I Need to Get By – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
11. I Think It’s Going to Rain Today – Nina Simone
12. The Light – The Album Leaf

You can pre-Order Songs From Scandal: Music For Gladiators HERE.