WNBA rookies Angel Reese of the Chicago Sky and Caitlin Clark of the Indiana Fever are among the top-voted players who secured spots on Team WNBA that will face the U.S. Women’s National Team in this year’s game, the league announced on Tuesday.

Since their WNBA debuts, both Reese and Clark have elevated women’s basketball, broadening its appeal and expanding viewership. The pair are contenders for rookie of the year, with Clark earning the title of rookie of the month in May and Reese following suit in June, ESPN reported.

While both women were once rivals during their college days at Iowa and Louisiana State University, they will now play as teammates for the first time in the highly anticipated event. Clark expressed her thoughts on her soon-to-be teammate, her excitement for the game and her desire for other women on the team to receive equal attention.

“I don’t think I’ve ever been her teammate before, even at USA Basketball. I know people will be really excited about it, but I hope it doesn’t take away from everyone else,” Clark said, per ESPN. “This is a huge accomplishment for everybody on Team USA and everyone on Team WNBA. They all deserve the same praise. I don’t want it to take away from any of that and be the focal point of All-Star weekend because that’s not fair to them.”

Reese, meanwhile, was overwhelmed with tears after finding out she will headline this year’s WNBA All-Star Game.

“I’m just so happy. I know the work I put in,” Reese told reporters. “Coming into this league, so many people doubted me and didn’t think my game would translate and I wouldn’t be the player that I was in college or better or would be worse and wouldn’t be where I am right now.”

The Team WNBA roster includes: 

  • DeWanna Bonner (Connecticut Sun)
  • Aliyah Boston (Indiana Fever)
  • Caitlin Clark (Indiana Fever)
  • Allisha Gray (Atlanta Dream)
  • Dearica Hamby (Los Angeles Sparks)
  • Brionna Jones (Connecticut Sun)
  • Jonquel Jones (New York Liberty)
  • Kayla McBride (Minnesota Lynx)
  • Kelsey Mitchell (Indiana Fever)
  • Arike Ogunbowale (Dallas Wings)
  • Nneka Ogwumike (Seattle Storm)
  • Angel Reese (Chicago Sky)


The USA Women’s National Team roster consists of:

  • Napheesa Collier (Minnesota Lynx)
  • Kahleah Copper (Phoenix Mercury)
  • Chelsea Gray (Las Vegas Aces)
  • Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury)
  • Sabrina Ionescu (New York Liberty)
  • Jewell Loyd (Seattle Storm)
  • Kelsey Plum (Las Vegas Aces)
  • Breanna Stewart (New York Liberty)
  • Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury)
  • Alyssa Thomas (Connecticut Sun)
  • A’ja Wilson (Las Vegas Aces)
  • Jackie Young (Las Vegas Aces)

The All-Stars were voted in using a system that combined votes from fans (50%), current WNBA players (25%) and a national panel of sports journalists (25%).

Clark was among the top 10 vote-getters, and Reese was listed as one of the 36 highest vote-getters not already on the U.S. National Team. However, they both had high numbers in the fan-voting section, with Clark leading the group (700,735 votes) and Reese (381,518).

The WNBA All-Star Game is scheduled for July 20 at the Footprint Center in Phoenix and will be broadcast live on ABC at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.