nullWinners of the 74th annual Peabody Awards announced today, Thursday, include a number of projects covered on this site:

– HBO’s "Mr. Dynamite: The Rise of James Brown" for its "revealing portrait of the famous but enigmatic soul-music pioneer."

– "COSMOS: A SpaceTime Odyssey," FOX’s one-season series that was hosted by Neil deGrasse Tyson, for its "dazzling virtual tour of the final frontier and its energetic evangelizing for science."

– Veteran documentary filmmaker Stanley Nelson’s 2014 feature "Freedom Summer," a remembrance of the pivotal Civil Rights voter-registration campaign in Mississippi in 1964.

– The Netflix documentary release "Virunga," about Congolese game-keepers trying to save gorillas from war, poachers and corporate exploitation.

– Disney Junior’s preschooler series, "Doc McStuffins," was cited for its "disarming, inspiring storytelling" about an African American doctor’s daughter who "treats" other kids’ broken toys.

As previously announced, an Institutional Peabody Award went to Afropop Worldwide, the long-running public-radio series devoted to music of the African continent.

All the winners of the 74th annual Peabodys will be presented with their awards on Sunday, May 31, at the first-ever nighttime, red-carpet Peabody ceremony. Fred Armisen, a Peabody winner for his work on "Saturday Night Live" and his series "Portlandia," is set to host the gala at Cipriani Wall Street in New York. And Pivot, Participant Media’s TV network, will broadcast The 74th Annual Peabody Awards on Pivot, in a 90-minute special, on Sunday, June 21 at 9pm ET/8pm CT.