The Breaks / VH1
The Breaks / VH1

VH1’s highly anticipated new scripted series “The Breaks,” is set to premiere on Monday, February 20th at 9PM ET/PT.

Inspired by “The Big Payback,” a nonfiction history of the hip-hop business written by journalist Dan Charnas, “The Breaks” is executive produced by Seith Mann and John J. Strauss.

The series stars Afton Willamson, Wood Harris, Mack Wilds, Antoine Harris, David Call, Evan Handler, Melonie Diaz, Sinqua Walls and Ali Ahn. Series guest stars include Tip “T.I.” Harris, Teyana Taylor, Gloria Reuben Kim Wayans, Lela Rochon, Dave East and Hassan Johnson.

Cliff ‘Method Man’ Smith, Russell Hornsby, J. Bernard Calloway, William Jackson Harper, A-F-R-O and De’Adre Aziza are also cast members.

Maggie Malina, Chris McCarthy and Amy Doyle serve as executive producers for VH1.

The original film, which served as a back-door pilot for the upcoming series, directed by Seith Mann, which aired about a year ago on VH1, follows 3 young friends fulfilling their hip hop dreams in New York City in 1990. The series continues to explore their triumphs and heartbreak trying to make their mark in a new and complex hip hop culture.

Ahead of the February 20th premiere of the series, the network has released online the original movie that aired last year, for fans to get ready for the series (especially if you missed it). “The Breaks” the original full movie is embedded below (followed by an extended trailer for the upcoming series).