Meghan Markle and Ryan Coogler have been named to Time's Person of the Year shortlist. This year, the Person of the Year award was split between journalists Time termed "The Guardians," men and women who reported on dictators, genocide and social justice issues, at times giving their lives to do so.

Markle was honored for bringing a "modern touch to the monarchy" and for her "commitment to inclusion and giving voice to the marginalized and disadvantaged" following her marriage to the U.K.'s Prince Harry. Coogler, who directed the Marvel blockbuster Black Panther, was included for proving "a movie can unite people" as he created "a vision of a future where Black Excellence is honored instead of minimized."

Time's "Guardians" include slain Saudi journalist Jamal Khashoggi, who, as NBC News notes, was killed in Turkey's Saudi consulate earlier this year. Intelligence agencies believe Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman is responsible for Khashoggi's death as he was a frequent critic of the Saudi government.

Filipina reporter Maria Ressa was also listed. She launched the news site Rappler, on which she critiques Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte. Her extensive reporting led Duterte's government to start a campaign of legal harassment against the site.

Other honorees included four journalists and a sales assistant killed this past June at The Capital Gazette in Annapolis, Maryland. As NBC News Washington reports, their killer reportedly attacked the paper following its reporting on his criminal harassment case. 

Journalists Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe OO were honored for their reporting on the military’s genocide of Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar. The two Reuters reporters were sentenced to seven years each for their work.


Blavitize your inbox! Join our daily newsletter for fresh stories and breaking news.

Now, check these out: 

TIME Magazine Names The "Silence Breakers" As Person Of The Year

Five St. Louis Activists, Leaders Who Are Helping To Better The Quality And Treatment Of All Black Lives

 Black Lives Matter Founders To Be Honored With The 2017 Sydney Peace Prize