Maris Curran’s "Five Nights in Maine," which stars David Oyelowo, as well as projects from familiar names like Terence Nance, Akosua Adoma Owusu, Roger Ross Williams, and Redelia Shaw are all among 15 total participants selected for the 12th edition of the Tribeca Film Institute’s annual Tribeca All Access (TAA) program, which supports filmmakers from statistically underrepresented communities, and will grant support for each of the projects, as well as offer year-round support, guidance and resources to help the filmmakers complete them.

TAA filmmakers are also welcomed into the TAA Alumni program which supports their present and future work. 

This year will see TAA and TAA Alumni awarded a total of $200,000 in grant money.

"Tribeca All Access is TFI’s cornerstone filmmaker program and through it we are constantly reevaluating what diversity means. This year, we are proud to extend our support to interactive and LGBT filmmakers, while maintaining the core mission of the program to amplify the voices of fearless, underrepresented artists," said Ryan Harrington, vice president, artist programmes at TFI.

The 15 projects selected are as follows:


  • "Declare Home": Produced by Judith Helfand, Daniel Latorre and Fenell Doremus
  • "Roll Red Roll": Produced by Nancy Schwartzman; designed by Tin Geber
  • "The Shiprock Experience": Directed and written by Ramona Emerson; produced by Kelly Byars
  • "South Meets North": Produced by Redelia Shaw, Dan Fallshaw and Violeta Ayala
  • "Traveling While Black": Produced by Roger Ross Williams, Joseph Lovett, Bonnie Nelson Schwartz, Lina Srivastava


  • "Be Safe I Love You": Directed by Haifaa Al Mansour
  • "Black Sunshine": Directed and produced by Akosua Adoma Owusu
  • "Five Nights in Maine": Directed by Maris Curran; produced by Maris Curran, Matt Parker, David Oyelowo and Carly Hugo
  • "White Sun": Directed and produced by Deepak Rauniyar
  • "You & Me Both": Directed by Jennifer Cho Suhr; Produced by Carolyn Mao


  • "Ask The Sexpert": Directed and produced by Vaishali Sinha
  • "Free From What": Directed by Anonymous; produced by Thomas Benski, Julia Nottingham and Lucas Ochoa
  • "Last Call": Directed & produced by Lana Wilson
  • "So Young So Pretty So White": Directed by Chanelle Aponte Pearson and Terence Nance; produced by Yaba Blay and Michelle Serieux
  • "The Reagan Years": Directed by Pacho Velez; produced by Sierra Pettengill

TAA is made possible by Time Warner Foundation, with additional support from The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, The National Endowment for the Arts, The New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and The New York State Council on the Arts.

Since 2004, TAA has supported 252 films and more than 395 film-makers, with TAA Alumni projects including "Nas: Time is Illmatic," "Obvious Child" and "Una Noche."