Harlem emcee Smoke DZA released his last project back in 2014, and now he’s back with his newest set, Don’t Smoke Rock, through Babygrande Records. Ambrosia for Heads first reported last year that Pete Rock was producing this new DZA LP. I can’t front, I was certain this would be a collaboration that would get overhyped, just to see it never come out.  However, the duo just came out with the first single, “Limitless,” which features Def Jam’s Dave East.

Smoke DZA and Pete Rock actually teamed up once before on “Achieve,” from DZA’s 2014 album Dream.ZONE.Achieve. DZA & Rock make an unlikely combo , with both being so far removed from the other in terms of their entry to hip-hop. But with “Limitless,” we might have something serious on our hands. Hip-hop shows no age. If you’re able to connect and bring something fruitful with a collaboration, there’s no reason to hide it.

We last heard from Pete Rock when he brought the proper sequel to Petestrumentals through Mello Music Group. “Limitless” knocks just as hard with lite piano loops in the background with blaring horns. Smoke DZA waxes poetic asserting his talent as an emcee, and speaks on how this is only the beginning. There is no ceiling to his talent. With Pete Rock being the producer of this, DZA is making a strong case. Don’t Smoke Rock is meant to give the listener a look into life in New York, the good, bad and ugly. For now though you can listen to “Limitless” below and just under that, you can peep the powerful tracklisting. Don’t Smoke Rock drops on December 2nd.

1. Intro

2. Limitless Featuring Dave East

3. Black Superhero Carr Featuring Rick Ross

4. Hold The Drums Featuring Royce 5’9″

5. Moving Weight PT1 Featuring Cam’Ron & NYMLo

6. Wild 100s

7. Last Name

8. 1 of 1

9. Milestone Featuring BJ The Chicago Kid, Jadakiss, & Styles P

10. Show Off Featuring Wale

11. Dusk 2 Dusk Featuring Big K.R.I.T., Dom Kennedy, & theMIND

12. I Ain’t Scared

13. Until Then Featuring Mac Miller


Loving Blavity’s content? Sign up for our newsletter!