In a time where the real world is quite crestfallen, grown-ish serves as just the perfect joyful escape we all need. But like any smart and thoughtful comedy, the Freeform show tackles real issues in a poignant — yet, still comical — way. With its latest episode, “It’s Hard Out Here For A Pimp,” grown-ish explores dating in college, but specifically dating as a young black woman.

The episode dives right in with Zoey’s (Yara Shahidi) voiceover dropping stats: “82 percent of non-black men show some bias against black women.” In the tenth episode of the season, Jazz (Chloe Bailey) and Sky (Halle Bailey) get to shine as they face the dating issue head-on. Real life conversations such as choosing black girls who “don’t look too black” or the “color-struck” concept enhance the episode’s fun and lighthearted moments.

Chloe x Halle chatted with Shadow and Act about their own similar conversations surrounding dating, the future evolution of Jazz and Sky and they dished on fun behind the scenes moments.

On how the conversation surrounding dating as a young black woman amongst you two and your friends, Chloe said, “What I love about grown-ish is that (the show) is putting these types of conversations out there for open dialogue and (these are conversations) that happen every day within our society. Being black girls, you’re “in it,” but being outside of it you may not be able to relate. But, I think this episode shines on different perspectives of colorism, and learning to love who you are no matter what and feeling accepted for who you are… and I’m just happy that my sister and I — aka Jazz and Sky — were able to shine a light on this issue.

Jazz & Sky are like the comic relief to this already funny show.  On Jazz & Sky’s evolution, Halle said, “What I love about our characters is how they can be honest in a very funny way and I think there is more of that… that you’ll be able to see in the future. I hope it inspires young people to speak up and not be afraid to say it — and hey, maybe you can (incorporate it) into a joke! We’re just so blessed to be a part of this and we hope everyone likes it!

The duo also gave us a behind-the-scenes fun fact from an episode this season. A bulk of the episode is filmed at a club and while shooting, Chloe, Halle, their assistant, and co-stars Trevor Jackson, Jordan Buhat made up a song about Emily Arlook which the group still sings in their group texts to this day.

Chloe x Halle have the type of exuberant charisma that pulls you into their music, not to mention the display of their gorgeous voices. Plus, grown-ish’s theme song “Grown,” is a bop. Fans will be excited to know that Chloe x Halle will release their much-anticipated debut full-length album on Friday, March 23, 2018. The Kids Are Alright is written and executively produced by Chloe Bailey, 19 and Halle Bailey, 17.

“Our debut album ‘The Kids Are Alright’ means so much to us,” mused Chloe x Halle. “This is three years of self-discovery, vulnerability, and growth, all put into one album. We’ve put our hearts and souls into every lyric, every beat, and we cannot wait for the world to hear.”

Get into the tracklisting below!

  1. Hello Friend (intro)
  2.  The Kids Are Alright
  3. Grown (from Grown-ish)
  4.  Hi Lo (featuring GoldLink)
  5. Everywhere
  6. FaLaLa (interlude)
  7. Fake (featuring Kari Faux)
  8. Baptize (interlude)
  9. Down
  10. Galaxy
  11. Happy Without Me (featuring Joey Bada$$)
  12. Babybird
  13. Warrior (from a Wrinkle in Time)
  14. Cool People
  15. Baby on a Plane
  16. If God Spoke

    Bonus Tracks:
  17. Drop
  18.  Fall


The Kids Are Alright is now available for pre-order.

grown-ish airs Wednesdays on Freeform.